Lumpy Days and Bahn Mi (oh my glob!)

Have you seen the show Adventuretime on Cartoon Network? Rob. and I love this show – it’s flippin’ HILARIOUS! It pretty much hits all my happy buttons: cute animation, cool music, silly plot lines (that aren’t embarrassing), fantasy characters, and the voice of Bender from Futurama. There is one character in particular I find completely amazing, and her name is Lumpy Space Princess. She’s lumpy. She’s purple. She’s a bitch. On a day like today, I feel like I AM LSP.

I just felt crabby! And hormonal! And LUMPY! …and I dealt with 10th graders all day (who were hopped up on caffeine and ready for the weekend and ohmigaw ohmigaw short school day ahhhh). OH MY GLOB!

After a barrage of “AHHH” and “I am gonna explode!” text messages, Rob. fired back a simple one that made me pause.

“Hey! Do you want me to start dinner early?” – 1:30 pm

I smiled and relaxed and tapped: “If you want! Would you take pics?”

I had the perfect blog meal planned. But after my lumpy day, I didn’t feel like cooking. Therefore, please enjoy the following COMPLETELY delicious meal with COMPLETELY awesome photography… all courtesy of my COMPLETELY amazing, wonderful, and supportive hubster. Oh my glob, what a lucky Space Princess I am 🙂

FYI, Banh Mi are delicious Vietnamese sandwiches. With the cultural influence of France, the Vietnamese cuisine yields some interesting dishes such as banh mi which include elements of both traditional cuisines (baguette bread from France and spicy fillings/pickles from Vietnam) that are really unique and completely delicious. These babies are quick to prepare and really tasty – and would be great for a football party or a busy night. And they’re vegan. And you won’t miss the meat (I promise)!

Banh Mi Sandwiches

Serves 4-6 (or 2 really hungry lumpy space people)

One baguette, cut into six chunks and sliced like a hotdog bun

Carrot/Daikon Slaw (garnish):

3 small/medium carrots, peeled and grated

1 small/medium chunk daikon radish, peeled and grated

1/4 cup seasoned rice vinegar

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 cup lukewarm water

sprinkling of salt

Filling:

1 lb. cremini or baby portabello mushrooms, sliced

1 sweet onion, sliced into thin rings

5 garlic cloves, minced

2 tsp olive oil

1 tsp seasoned rice vinegar

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce or tamari

2 tsp sriracha or other hot asian chili sauce

a generous tsp ground black pepper

Toppings and Fixings:

Veganaise

cilantro

sliced jalapenos

cucumber (peeled and sliced into long thick strips)


First, prepare your pickle (because it likes to sit for an hour). You can do this one of two ways – run the peeled carrots and daikon through your food processor on the small grate function (which I’ve done – this is so easy and spares your knuckles!) or grate them yourself on a cheese grater (which Rob. did here). Put all your carrot, daikon, the vinegar, sugar, and water together in a bowl and stir. Add the sprinkling (or more if you’d like) of salt and put the whole thing, covered, in the fridge to marinate for around an hour. The longer you let it sit, the pickle-ier it becomes (which, for me, is awesome and for Rob. is not so awesome so feel free to find your happy pickley medium!)

Next, chop your onion and mushrooms. I like to prepare the sauce separately and add it as the vegetables saute. Therefore, combine the minced garlic, vinegars, soy sauce, hot sauce and pepper in a measuring cup or mug and set it aside while you heat the olive oil over medium-high heat in a sauce pan.

Add the mushies and onion and saute for about 2 minutes, then add the sauce and allow the whole mixture to cook until the mushrooms and onions are soft and caramelized.

Finally, slice up and toast your baguette in the oven. The way to serve these sandwiches is to slather the inside with Veganaise, add a layer of mushroom filling, a layer of pickle, then garnish with cucumbers, cilantro, and jalapenos.

Fair warning that they can be messy to eat, but expect a totally delicious flavor explosion (that might get all over your shirt if you’re not careful)!

Enjoy!

3 responses

  1. Heck yes! I have a love/hate relationship with ‘shrooms but this recipe definitely fell into the love category when you made it before. 🙂 That baguette looks awesome too, where is it from? Please don’t say homemade or my head might explode…

  2. Hey! Robby got the baguette at the Kiva I think. I bet it’s Hideaway. I totally ate like 3/4 of it all by myself. I want to make bread really bad but haven’t dug out the time yet… I have that “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes” book and want to start! Maybe I’ll try that during Christmas break…..

  3. Pingback: Baguettes, me, and banh mi | Cast Iron Maiden

Leave a Reply

